Baby Steps

The blog – it’s getting away from me.

Well, I’m still here, still trying to keep my head above water.  Things came to a crescendo this weekend as I had literally a billion and a half things to do and three days to do them in.  That being said, I got a lot done (with the help of my selfless and ever-loving husband).

I spent all of Saturday working on my Statistics assignment.  I am just not built for statistics.  As long as it’s simple, I’m fine.  But start adding in interactions, and I’m lost.  I worked my way through it, but it took 9 hours to do what I was told would take 6-7 hours.  What a nightmare.  I still don’t know if it’s correct – I guess I’ll just have to turn it in and see what happens!

Sunday I spent studying for my Medical exam.  Which is kind of silly, because a) I’ve been off campus in three different settings – I know otoscopy and how to take a case history and all of that kind of stuff, and b) we’ve literally been taught ALL of this material before in various other classes, be in Diagnostic Audiology or Pediatrics or Cochlear Implants.  I know this stuff – I’m not worried.  But just to be sure (as this particular professor wants THOROUGH, well-reasoned, please-memorize-everything-I’ve-ever-said-to-you-and-spit-it-back-to-me kinds of responses), I went back through all my notes and made myself a study guide.

I was lucky to have the day off from clinic on Monday as my supervisor was taking a personal day, so on Monday I finally got my butt in gear and finished all of my IRB materials for the Capstone project.  AND I got a start on the lit review section of my research proposal.  It’s nowhere near even first draft stage, but it felt good to finally start getting words down on paper.

In between all those things, Nate and I did yard work (did you know that it’s fall and we have to rake and bag a bajillion leaves?  Right now?  During the fall semester?  When my life is crazy busy?)  I went grocery shopping.  I went to Costco.  We got Lydia new sneakers.  We got Jake his Halloween costume (ninja!).  Nate cleaned all the bathrooms and vacuumed everything because my parents are coming to visit and it’s just too embarrassing to contemplate.  It had to be done.

Do you feel tired after reading all that?  Because I do!  Here’s hoping for a relatively relaxing visit with my parents.  Mom will do laundry.  Dad will cook.  They’ll do the school pick-ups and drop-offs.  For me, it’s like a mini-vacation!

This entry was posted in General, School. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Baby Steps

  1. Deia says:

    I am feeling overwhelmed just reading all your accomplishments this weekend. Good job! Have fun with the grandparents!

Leave a comment